Stop Colon Cancer Now Logo
see more news

8 Surprising Products That Contain Gluten

gluten

Celiac disease is becoming more and more common these days, which means that thousands of Americans are cutting gluten out of their diet. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye that gives elasticity to dough and chewy texture to bread. About one in every 133 people has intolerance to gluten.

Gluten intolerance can have a vast array of symptoms, but some of the most common signs of gluten intolerance are:

  • Abdominal cramping
  • Bloating and gas
  • Diarrhea, constipation or a combination of both
  • Irritability and moodiness
  • Dizziness, difficulty balancing and pain in extremities
  • Chronic fatigue

It seems obvious that breads, cakes, biscuits, rolls and crackers have gluten because they all contain flour. However, you may be surprised how many products and foods contain gluten! If you or someone you love has intolerance to gluten, you should familiarize yourself with foods and products that should be avoided (Source: Huffington Post).:

  1. Hot dogs—Skipping the bun is self-explanatory, but you better throw the dog out with the bun! Many hot dogs and sausages contain wheat gluten, so be sure that you read the labels!
  2. Veggie burgers—Gluten can give veggie patties and imitation meat products a meat-like texture, so read all ingredients before purchasing veggie products.
  3. Salad dressings—Gluten can act as a thickening agent for dressings. Be aware of “modified food starch” in the ingredient list, since that can often mean gluten.
  4. Flavored potato chips—Some chips are flavored with processed flavorings that contain wheat, barley or rye.
  5. Pickles—If malt vinegar is used in the picking process, the pickles contain gluten. Malt vinegar is made from barley. Some brands of pickles use corn-based vinegar which is gluten-free.
  6. Soy sauce—This salty sauce may contain wheat, so read the entire label. Some brands of soy sauce are specifically labeled “gluten-free.”
  7. Hair care products—Many shampoos, conditioners, detanglers and styling products can contain gluten.
  8. Cosmetics—Lipstick, lip gloss, mascara, moisturizers and many other beauty items list gluten on their ingredient list. Certain brands advertise themselves as “gluten free,” so do some research before purchasing any new cosmetics.

If celiac disease is a recent diagnosis, ask your doctor to refer you to a dietician who can help you make wise food choices so you can enjoy gluten-free meals and snacks. Sometimes, the key to managing celiac disease is being an expert label-reader!

Related Articles:

posted on August 22, 2014 in news